About Us

The Trustees of The New Castle Common is a most unusual organization.

It is unique within Delaware and perhaps the entire United States. The Trustees have a fascinating history as old as New Castle, because the 'Common' land has existed since the days of early Dutch colonization.

In 1701, William Penn surveyed and formally recognized 1,068 acres which were already being used as a common. By the middle of that century, it became apparent that overseers were needed to protect and preserve the common lands for the benefit of all. A trust was incorporated in 1764, and a body of thirteen Trustees appointed for life terms to act as stewards of the land.

About thirty years ago these terms were "shortened" to twelve years. For over 250 years the mission has remained the same: to manage the common lands responsibly and for the benefit of the citizens of New Castle. Today, Trust income is derived primarily from property leases and investments.

There are thirteen Trustees Board members. They meet regularly on the first Tuesday of each month (except July and August) in the Old Town Hall. The Board accomplishes its work through a number of working committees.


President: Peter J. Toner
Vice President: Thomas A. Episcopo
Secretary: Michael J. Alfree, Sr.
Assistant Secretary: Thomas L. Clayton, Sr.
Treasurer: Fred G. Gallagher, Jr.
Assistant Treasurer: Brenda W. Antonio

Click here to see

Current Trustees

Monthly Meetings

Meetings are held each month from September to June in the meeting room on the third floor of the Town Hall, 201 Delaware Street, New Castle. They are open to the public except for small portions of the meeting which are "executive sessions" for private matters (for example, personnel or real estate).

Regular meetings are held the first Tuesday of each month, except for September and January, when they may be shifted to the second week, depending on when Labor Day and New Years Day falls.

Special meetings are held irregularly. Their dates will be announced in the New Castle Weekly, and posted on the door of the Trustee's office.